Writing Truly is an Art

If you see me out at a coffee shop with my laptop in front of me, odds are more times than not you’ll find me staring intently at nothing in particular, or perhaps my eyes are locked in your direction, seemingly gazing deep into the darkest, most secret depths of your soul. However, let me first apologize because I do tend to stare off into space a lot and many times when I mosey back to reality, I find that I’ve been unknowingly staring at some poor freaked out stranger (cue the red cheeks of embarrassment). BUT I solemnly swear that there is nothing nefarious being contemplated behind those piercing eyes of mine, well not unless we’re talking about the next villain plotting his scheme to thwart the hero’s victories.

Every bit of writing, whether it’s an email, blog post, or novel, has to be perfectly crafted, with each word chosen to most accurately convey the intended message. And that takes a lot of thinking! At least for me, it does. Sometimes it’s a single word that bothers me, and in my opinion throws off the entire sentence. But after careful consideration, and sometimes a thorough thesaurus consultation, I find the right word and viola, everything just fits together seamlessly, like a perfect outfit designed solely for me! It’s truly that serious!

Anyway, enough of my rambling. The point I’m trying to make is that to create good writing, one must strive to surpass simple sentence structure. Take the extra time and put forth the effort to not only build better sentences, but more importantly, use your words to create a world that completely transports the reader from reality and makes them feel utterly immersed into your story.

Be sure to click on the link below to read Writing is Design: Parts 1 and 2, both are great articles that reinforce the concept of writing as art and are full of advice on how to take your writing to a more imaginative level.

http://theworldsgreatestbook.com/pronouns-generic-verbs/

Leave a Reply

